Newsletter – February 2015

Love eye 2

Hello,

Many thanks to those of you who sent me your photographs to be used in the face of the month series this year. The invitation remains open so send me a photo of your face looking straight into the camera. As I said last month, if your photo is used on my website, I will then personally email you ‘reads’ I receive from students and followers of my newsletter as well as email you a more in-depth analysis from me.

Several of you share articles that you have found interesting and I appreciate that. John found an article written by Amy Morin for Forbes titled “It Pays To Be Able To Read Others’ Emotions: This Tool Provides The Competitive Advantage”. She mentions research that linked the ability to read others emotions increases likelihood of higher income. For this article she interviewed Paul Ekman and you know how highly I rate his work. To read the article visit: http://www.forbes.com/sites/amymorin/2015/01/31/it-pays-to-be-able-to-read-others-emotions-this-tool-provides-the-competitive-advantage/2/

In addressing facial emotions and moods I find it interesting here in the Seattle area how the words “GO HAWKS” bring an instant smile to so many faces. Hope this remains the case at the conclusion of the Super Bowl game today!

Cheers,
Glenna

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
In this issue –

1.  These eyes …

2.  Valentine’s Day and ‘love at first sight’

3.  Glenna’s reading of the January 2015 Face of the Month (glennatrout.com)

4.  FAQ’s

5.  Face of the Month – February 2015

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
1.  These eyes …
I am well impressed by the responses you have sent regarding the eyes in the January Face of the Month. However, some of you expressed that it was distressing to only be able to see the eyes and not the entire face in last month’s Face of the Month. Guess I should have mentioned that I would post the entire face in this newsletter. So, here he is:January_full_faceDoes seeing his entire face change what you initially thought when just viewing his eyes?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

2.  Valentine’s Day and ‘love at first sight’ – According to a study undertaken at the University of Chicago, the eyes do reveal whether it is love or lust at ‘first sight’. This automatic judgement can apparently occur in as little as half a second and can be determined by observing gaze patterns. Eye gaze patterns which concentrate on a strangers face indicates potential romantic interests whereas gaze patterns that encompass the other person’s body indicates sexual desire. Is this another mystery solved?

For additional details visit:
http://www.news.uchicago.edu/article/2014/07/17/eye-movements-reveal-difference-between-love-and-lust

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

3. Glenna’s reading of the January 2015 Face of the Month (http://www.glennatrout.com)
While his right eye – the social mask side of his face – is looking directly at the photographer, he is not emotionally connecting. This is even more evident in his left eye (private side). In addition to prominent ‘grief bags’ there are other signs of worry, confusion and sadness. However, take note of the depth of the lines radiating out from the edges of each eye as these indicate that he has felt immense joy during his life, too.
For those studying personality programs those visible in just his eyes include Bootstrap and ORD

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

4.  FAQ’s – “Please explain to me the science of face reading.”

Glenna replies – The point I try to make clear in all my classes is that the tools of face reading and facial communication that I teach are more of an ‘art’ than a ‘science’.

Paul Ekman (http://www.paulekman.com) has done extensive and excellent research, study and writing on facial emotions. The use of this information might be classified as ‘science’ when verified and quantified with methods similar to what Mr. Ekman uses. Otherwise, this and the other face reading tools I use and teach are subjective (applied and interpreted through each individual’s own perspective) and therefore not ‘science’.

Learning and applying face reading tools can increase insight, understanding and compassion for self and others, but use these tools as guides rather than as absolutes.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

5. Face of the Month – February 2015

Maryse Mertens_Feb_eyes_of_monthIt’s all about the eye’s again this month. The full face will be published in my March 2015 Newsletter.

My February Face of the Month is Maryse who is keen to know what we see in her face.  Because we are focusing on eyes for the time being, I am using this portion of the photograph she sent to me.  In the March issue, I will feature her entire face.  Please email me with your ‘reads’ of the features, emotions, personality traits and other observations you see.  I will be compiling all the results and sharing them with Maryse later.

In the interim I invite you to explore the face and share your thoughts with me (e-mail glenna@glennatrout.com) or scribble them down and compare your notes with my interpretation in a month’s time !

Good luck.

All the best,

Glenna
Email: glenna@glennatrout.com
Website: glennatrout.com

